Rooting Advice please: can I get Mass Storage + will I lose functions?

applehater00

Apr 23, 2015
Visit site
Hi guys, I'm very new to Android.

Just bought a Note 4 and am thinking of rooting it. Done a load of reading but would just like clarification please on:

1) Is there an app/fix to make my phone USB mass storage compatible so I can put it into my car stereo to read like a USB stick so I can access tunes that way? I've looked at SG enabler etc but none of them I see mention Note 4.

2) Maybe a silly question but I understand you root you lose the bloatware, which is great, but does it also mean I will lose functions like all the S-pen stuff, the camera functions like Optical Image Stabilisation etc etc etc? i.e. will I lose all those things abotuthe Note 4 that is meant to make the Note 4 great? Or are some ROMs (if that's the right word?) inclusive of all these bits? Or can you get other apps that will do all the things you lose?

Any advice appreciated please thank you in advance :)

natehoy

Sep 2, 2011
Visit site
If you plug your phone into any device that recognizes USB sticks, it should be seen by default by that device as a USB stick. At least, that's how mine works. Have you tried simply jacking your phone into the stereo?

Kelly Kearns

Jan 10, 2012
Visit site
Well first, which carrier is your phone?

Also you don't lose bloatware, you have the ability to uninstall bloatware.

I root and don't use a custom ROM, my phone looks the same but I can move a lot of apps to the SD card, decide what auto starts, delete any apps and freeze apps from running.

I can't root my N4 yet because it is AT&T.

applehater00

Apr 23, 2015
Visit site
I have natehoy and it comes up as "not compatible" hence the question. Something to do with android going from mass storage to mtp at some point.