On ATT is my Note 4 eligible for tethering w/ grandfathered unl. data?

A

AC Question

ATT / Note 4 / tethering w/ grandfathered unl. data

Hello, I am new to the world of android. I switched from iPhone to the Note 4 and insisted on keeping my unlimited data plan from AT&T. With my work related discounts it was the best option. I am not paying for tethering services. On my note it shows that I can turn the feature on and make it a hot spot for my laptop (its not grayed out). Before I "flip the switch" will AT&T ding me for this or change my plan?

I don't want to pay extra and will need the laptop to access internet intermittently for a while. I'm cheap and cautious on most things LOL

wookiee2cu

Apr 17, 2014
Visit site
Re: ATT / Note 4 / tethering w/ grandfathered unl. data

I was also on an iPhone with grandfathered unlimited data with AT&T and the impression I was under was you could only keep that grandfathered unlimited data if you stayed with the iPhone (you could upgrade to newer versions of the iPhone and still be grandfathered). I could be wrong but I was told the same thing by several employees I talked to so you may want to call AT&T and verify that you still have unlimited data. I went to the AT&T Next plan when I got my Galaxy S5 about a year ago (changed to Note 4 a few months back) and have 10GB of data a month. Like I said it's best to phone AT&T with your questions and to verify your unlimited data is still intact.