To Note4, or not to Note4, that is the question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

bimbert84

Oct 1, 2011
Visit site
I'm currently using a Verizon Droid Razr Maxx HD running KitKat and am looking to upgrade to a Note 4, but there's one (and only one) thing that gives me pause: Lollipop.

The number of problem reports with this OS is staggering. My #1 and #2 priorities are stability and full-day battery life, both of which are awesome on my Razr. But the other priorities are worth something, too -- I just don't want to give up #1 and #2 to get them. Unfortunately, it sounds like Lollipop will do exactly that. But I'm wondering if the problems are related only to OTA updates, or are new devices preloaded with 5.0.1 also affected? If they are, can those devices be rolled back to KitKat?

As a (conscientious) software engineer by trade, I have little-to-no patience for bad software. I'm trying to decide if I should take a leap of faith by buying a new-in-May-2015 Lollipop Note 4 and hoping it won't be plagued by problems, or just stick with what I have until these companies can make their software work like released software should.

-- Rob

Trees

Sep 20, 2012
Visit site
I've had no issues with my Note 4. Got it right before the Lollipop update released on Verizon, and then did the OTA upgrade to 5.0.1.

Can easily get a full day (off charger at 0600, back on charger at 10pm or later).

Sure, does an app occasionally crash or misbehave? I've had a few, with Weather Underground most recently crashing when refreshing the radar loop. I don't attribute that to the Note 4 or 5.0.1. No phone/TouchWiz or 5.0.1 related problems that I have noticed or am aware of.

Last edited:

Kelly Kearns

Jan 10, 2012
Visit site
I'm currently using a Verizon Droid Razr Maxx HD running KitKat and am looking to upgrade to a Note 4, but there's one (and only one) thing that gives me pause: Lollipop.