So I've been running a custom ROM on my Note 4 for a few months. I hit a bumpy road the few weeks since I had no idea what I was doing at first, but I didn't let that stop me.

I knew there was a whole other world out there for me and this Note 4.

Samsung support was rather lackluster... who am I kidding half assed. Add that with Verizon and slow as Hell updates... it was a disaster.

I got tired of waiting for things that never came so I looked into the Developer community for support, and boy was I shocked. So much support for such an "old" device.

Development is ripe as ever especially with former Note 7 owners coming back to the Note 4.

I started from nothing. Knew nothing about rooting. Zero, but I sat down, put on my reading glasses and dug into the XDA forums.

Anyone with a little patience can root, as long as you read carefully. If you're a visual learner, watch videos.

I was blown away after I ordered a ZeroLemon battery. I mean, running custom ROMs was good enough, but now running a custom ROM with a MASSIVE battery has certainly changed my opinion of this phone.

I love it even more! My biggest complaints (New features / better battery) are GONE.

If you're looking for Nougat or any other support from Samsung. That has long sailed. Take a stab at rooting. It'll definitely breathe life into your phone.

Below is a screenshot of DAY ONE battery life on a Note 7 ROM with ZeroLemon.

All that BS about a phone slowing down with the latest update/ losing battery with latest update is just that. BS.

My phone not only operated more smoothly, it also lasted a bit longer than stock (even on the stock battery.)

Once rooted you can do whatever you please. I bought this phone two years ago today. I never wanna let him go. 😂😂😂
    Attached Thumbnails New Life Into an Old Phone-2393.jpg  
    huntnyc, nahoku, Droidful and 1 others like this.
    01-19-2017 08:35 PM
    Share your stories.

Was it a disaster?
    Was it amazing?
    Do you not care enough to?