Galaxy Note 4 screen going black when picking ringtone

Sep 21, 2017
Visit site
Okay, I'd like to start by saying sorry if this has already been asked before, but I've been searching for weeks and haven't been able to find an answer anywhere.

I've been using my Galaxy Note 4 (SM-N910U) for almost 3 years now. It was running the factory installed version of Android from when I bought it (then updated to 6.0.1). Aside from a few light dings, there have been no incidents that stand out as being potentially harmful for the phone. My original battery started to die a few months ago, only being able to hold a charge for 2 hours with screen on. I bought a replacement battery from a Samsung retailer and have been using that for the past month or two.

Recently I've found that when I go to choose a new ringtone by selecting "Add" from the ringtone picker and choose one of the songs present in my device storage, the screen will go black and the entire device becomes unresponsive until I restart it by removing the battery (Pressing the power button has no effect). It's really annoying and tedious. I have had no such issues with this phone before.

Things I've tried:
1) Taking out the battery and holding the power button for 2 minutes - no change
2) Boot into Safe Mode - no change
3) Factory reset - no change
4) Flashing a new stock rom with MM 6.0.1 (N910UXXS2DQHF) - no change

This device is also out of warranty, partially due to being 3 years old and partially due to me rooting it after... So returning it to Samsung for replacement is out of the question. I'm also new to flashing, so I'm not comfortable with trying to flash a custom ROM, mostly because I don't want to accidentally brick my phone, and also because they usually have bugs that make some of the features unusable (like fingerprint scanning)