I am getting my Note 5 from Best Buy on Friday and getting a wireless charger which I've never used before. My question is can you use a case with wireless charging and if so do you have to be careful of what kind of case you buy?

Posted via Android Central App
    08-16-2015 07:36 AM
    You can use a case. I have been using a Qi coil on my note 3 through a silicone case pretty much since I got the phone.

The key is how thick the case is. In most cases even old wireless tech can reach through a 1-2 centimeters of material. New tech has been created to extend that to a few inches but I am not sure if it is implemented.

I would suggest you get a few wireless chargers and strategically place them so you can allow small maintenance charge cycles instead of trying to charge from really low to full.

Posted via the Android Central App
    08-16-2015 07:54 AM
    I have read that cases like the mophie battery case will not work.
    08-16-2015 08:23 AM
    I think that is a material issue. I can see why a think battery case wouldn't work. But with a few wireless chargers you should never need such capacity. The whole ides with wireless charging is that you just put your phone down and it is always charging. So in cases were a thick battery case is used you probably wouldn't want to use wireless charging.

Also would wireles charging even make sense as you probably should charge through the battery case anyways.

08-16-2015 08:51 AM
    I just want to use it as an overnight charger and not primary source of charging.

Posted via Android Central App
    08-16-2015 09:07 AM
    I have so many cases on many old phones. Every one of them has worked fine with Qi chargers. You should be fine.
    08-16-2015 09:14 AM