How to get a Galaxy Note 5 in Europe?

anon(9613217)

Aug 21, 2015
Visit site
Hey guys, Will D here, long time reader, first time poster!

Been an Andriod user for the last few years ever since I bought a Galaxy S One second hand from a friend. I'm still using this phone and it's on its last legs so an upgrade is long overdue :). I've been browsing the market for more then 6 months, nearly bought an S6 but was then intrigued by the Note line's S Pen and productivity powerhouse reputation.

I had been eagerly waiting all summer as the drip feed of Galaxy Note 5 rumours built up to the August 13th Unpacked event. Imagine my dismay then when Samsung, in their wisdom, deceided not to release the Note 5 in Europe!

Just wanted to see if we can get a thread going in order to source the best info on how we unfortunate Europeans can go about getting a Note 5.

I'm currently debating whether to do the following:

- I have a friend who is travelling to Australia in the coming weeks

- I'm thinking about buying the Note 5 through Samsung Australia's own website, getting it delivered to my friend there and then her bringing it back to the UK for me. Doing it this way means the phone would at least be SIM/carrier free.

- Anyone know if the Note 5 is region locked? Would it necessary for the phone to opened in Australia and used with an Australian SIM in order to deactivate the region locking?

For me it's either the above, maybe buying from a grey market importer or possibly just going for the Note 4.

Anyone know of any potentential problems using a Note 5 in an unofficial market long term? There'll be no warranty obviously, and no carrier support either :(
Anyone know if the Australian/international version will work on UK networks? As best I can figure the international version's (Australia SM-N920I according to Sammobile) bands should work on UK networks but anyone know for definite?
Also, does that mean that Android Marshmallow would be unavailable too?