Help with Data Usage and Battery Life

NatalieB2015

Sep 4, 2015
Visit site
Hi everyone,
First, the data question:
I am new to the Note 5. Day 17 to be exact. I am on the AT&T plan (long story short) I was "accidentally" moved off the unlimited plan I've had for years to a 3GB plan. AT&T is resolving this issue but it has made me aware of the data usage on the Note 5.

I moved from the iPhone 5S. For years, my monthly average data usage was quite low, maybe (big Maybe) 4GB in a month if I streamed videos. I have had this phone since 9/4 and I am already over 4GB. The only thing that has changed is we no longer have wifi in our home so instead of using my iPad at night I am using my phone, but even that usage is limited to simply reading email and facebook. Maybe looking through Pinterest.

I do not play any games and have not streamed any videos. Not even short youtube clips. I have used the phone strictly for email, facebook, text messaging, streaming music (20 minutes / day while I drive, benign Internet activity that I have always done. I have had to download apps but I downloaded apps with the iPhone all the time. The only config difference between the iPhone and Note 5 that I see today would be Facebook notifications. Facebook did not provide any banners or notifications on my app icon or on the locked screen.

Does the Note 5 date/weather widget use a lot of data? What about the pull down notification screen? I am guessing that the notifications indicate background data usage and if I turn them off I can reduce the amount of data I am using. Is this assumption true? << HOW do I turn these notifications off? >>

Lastly, any tricks I can take to reduce data usage?

Battery Life: