Is Samsung's own Protection Plan+ a better deal than SquareTrade or Verizon(Asusion) plans?

KiwiCoalBattery

Oct 1, 2015
Visit site
Is Samsung's own Protection Plan+ a better deal than SquareTrade or Verizon(Asusion) plans?

for the Note5, the cost is $129 for 2-year coverage. Accidental damage and spills are covered. Deductible is $79.

I've had the Verizon(Asurion) plan on my previous Note 2 & 3, but didn't get it for the Note 4, because it wasn't worth it anymore. Verizon tells me the deductible for the Note5 is $199, which makes absolutely no sense.

The Samsung plan seems quite reasonable, but I have zero experience with them. There also seems to be very little discussion about it on the internet....

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
One major deficiency for SquareTrade is that it doesn't cover loss or theft--only damage or defects. I believe Asurion covers loss and theft.

metropolitim

Oct 12, 2013
Visit site
One major deficiency for SquareTrade is that it doesn't cover loss or theft--only damage or defects. I believe Asurion covers loss and theft.

Yes, and that's a big deal. I've had cell phones for 30 years, and never lost one or had one stolen -- but this one looks more enticing than the others. :)

Certainly more enticing than that first one.

774813bcd99d6df40fd00bfb7e1d339e.jpg

KiwiCoalBattery

Oct 1, 2015
Visit site
Yes, and that's a big deal. I've had cell phones for 30 years, and never lost one or had one stolen -- but this one looks more enticing than the others. :)

Certainly more enticing than that first one.

View attachment 199915

True story: My late aunt had one of those in the very early 1990's. Someone tried to rob her coming out of a doctor's office. She used that giant phone and smashed into the mugger's head. Unfortunately, the mugger hit back and stabbed her in the stomach with a blade.(she turned out alright) The mugger got away with her purse. She ended up using that phone to call the police/

B. Diddy