08-25-2016 09:15 PM
40 12
tools
    I'm new to Android after 10 year absence.

What is the advantage, purpose/benefit of a 3rd party "launcher"?

THANKS. Peace. Alan
    08-24-2016 10:02 AM
    That's just not enough info. But still...

Peace. Alan
    While it may not be enough info, it really is the correct answer.

You can:
    increase the grid size ...from 6x5 up to 8 x 7 rows and columns of icons.
    change the grid size of the app drawer from 4x4 up to 6x6
    change icon sizes, have labels on the icons, etc
    ad gestures to icons...for example set your Internet icon to automatically go to search when you swipe up on the icon, etc
    Increase the dock to have up to 7 icons and create up to 3 docks, and move the app drawer icon
    backup and restore your launcher settings.

there is much more but I think those things alone make it a much more robust launcher.
    ^^^ customization 🙄
    pkcable likes this.
    08-24-2016 10:06 AM
    ^^^ customization

Peace. Alan
    08-24-2016 10:10 AM

Peace. Alan
    While it may not be enough info, it really is the correct answer.

You can:
    increase the grid size ...from 6x5 up to 8 x 7 rows and columns of icons.
    change the grid size of the app drawer from 4x4 up to 6x6
    change icon sizes, have labels on the icons, etc
    ad gestures to icons...for example set your Internet icon to automatically go to search when you swipe up on the icon, etc
    Increase the dock to have up to 7 icons and create up to 3 docks, and move the app drawer icon
    backup and restore your launcher settings.

there is much more but I think those things alone make it a much more robust launcher.
    08-24-2016 10:20 AM

Peace. Alan

Ok

there's so much literature about Nova Prime launcher out there....

My top 5 reasons why I love Nova Prime

1. "Lock Desktop" once activated you cannot accidentally move or delete apps by mistake on home screens.

2. Scroll effects.

3. Unread counts with Notifyer+

4. Looks beautiful