Note 7 - Total newbie thread

Serkle K

Aug 3, 2016
Visit site
So, this is my first Android and first Samsung Note7.

I have a bunch of questions, mostly for ways to customize my device.

I tried Google but not really fining what I am looking for.

I'd like to know if it's possible to, and to assign the LED light to certain colors for certain notifications or email accounts?

How do I change notifications sounds for apps and such? I'd like to have a specific custom audio alert for Messenger, FB, and IG. I think i was able to change my ringtone, but I havent even gotten figured out how to make custome profile settings. Is that even possible?

I've always had a Custome homer Simpson alert for voicemails, and I'd like to set that again on here.

I just cant seem to find where to make these kinds of custom changes. As I mentioned, this is my first time with Android. So please forgive me if I seem lost or clueless.

Also, I don't know how to get a clean full screen shot. I've had to settle for using the S Pen to crop the screen.

And lastly, if I want to rest to factory, what is the fastest or best method for doing so?

That's all I can think of at the moment. Thanks!

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Re: Total newbie thread

Don't think I have seen you around before... welcome to the forums!

You can change most app notifications in their own settings section. Say for Gmail, you click on the menu in Gmail, and then settings. In there is your path to set a specific sound file. You can do this with voicemail too, bit it only applies to all voicemails.

msndrstood

Oct 2, 2011
Visit site

Hi, and congrats on your Note 7, you're gonna have fun getting to know each other. 😊

As for the notification light... Some apps have settings that let you set the LED color. I know some people use Light Flow in the Play Store.