Help choosing between Samsung Pay and Android Pay....

clg82

Aug 29, 2016
Visit site
Hello everyone. I'm new to the note7 coming from an iphone6s Plus (booooo I know) and so far my transition has been flawless! I love the phone so far but have one question about what everyone is using for their "pay" service....Which one is better to use Samsung Pay or Android pay and why do you prefer one over the other....thanks for any help!~Chris

TylerLV76

Jun 30, 2016
Visit site
I prefer Samsung pay because its able to be used on almost any terminal even if they dont have nfc. Android pay has more card selections but 3 of my cards work in Samsung pay so Im good.

clg82

Aug 29, 2016
Visit site
Thanks Tyler....I was reading a little bit into Samsung pay and it looks like it's accepted at all NFC terminals as long as it uses your card correct?

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Samsung Pay FTW!!! The fact that it works with older terminals is what makes it more appealing and useful, really. Android Pay just works with NFC-enabled terminals, and those aren't around much. Normal 'swipe your card' ones, however, are still pretty much everywhere and those will work with Samsung Pay.

Downside? Some banks aren't still on board with Samsung Pay (I'm looking at you, Capital One). Android Pay gets around this by using a 3rd party bank which is used for the purchase and then that bank charges your unsupported card (but you don't get charges notifications or promotional benefits from your card like bonus points for a certain category). Samsung Pay, however, doesn't have this 'workaround' so cards that aren't supported are just not supported.

Both can live in your phone, though, and you can select which one to use when paying.

Also, Samsung Pay has way more promotions going on.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Thanks Tyler....I was reading a little bit into Samsung pay and it looks like it's accepted at all NFC terminals as long as it uses your card correct?