I am new to android, been an ios guy since the 3GS dropped. Purchased the Note 7 (love it), recall/replacement was picked up yesterday and configuration was "supposedly" copied over to new phone.....DISASTER!! Apps that were in folders didn't come back, all of my customization's (animations off, developer mode, voice activation on camera, game settings etc) were lost. Music that was on the SD card, once it was unmounted....all gone, pictures came over fine. The only thing I didn't have to do was go back to the google store and download apps again. Apple phones when replaced absolutely no issues. Is this the norm with android? I cannot go through this again!! Thanks in advance for any help given.
    09-21-2016 01:51 PM
    I think with a lot of those issues (animations, developer mode, game settings, etc.), you're just out of luck. The Smart Switch will copy many things, but it does not "clone" your old phone.
    I use Nova Launcher (Prime) as my launcher, and you can back up screen configuration and many of the (Nova) customizations. I had my N7 replacement looking the same (wallpaper, app layout, folders, custom gestures, etc.) as my S7E within seconds after Smart Switch by using Nova's import of my Nova backup.
    09-21-2016 02:38 PM
    WOW!! OK dont know anything about nova launcher, but I'm willing to learn. This has been an absolute nightmare. Hate to be dramatic but I've switched out phones MANY times when I was with the "other" platform and it was a breeze!
    09-21-2016 02:50 PM