Can we talk about the S Pen...uses, workflow, "best practices"...?

French

Oct 30, 2009
Visit site
So I'm new to the Note series but had S Notes on my Galaxy S7. So I had some "notes" there. I also use Keep...mainly just a list organizer...a "to do" type of thing. But I also have some information in Keep (for example I have notes on the paint colors used in my condo, along with pics of the paint cans with the paint codes). I then thought it made sense to transfer this information OneNote.

Now I have Samsung Notes...the older version of S Notes and Keep. And I'm getting myself all discombobulated trying to figure out how to best organize myself and what I use when. Add in the whole "cloud storage" issues (Drive...Dropbox...OneDrive...).

So far I DON'T use the pen all that much because I don't know if I should be creating in S Notes in case I end up wanting to link to an action, or Samsung Notes because I won't need to link...and I'm a bit confused as to how useful these 2 programs are if they don't offer web or computer sync??? So then I think Keep might be the best way to go about things, but then if I do start to jot a note in Keep I can't convert it at all if I should need to (handwriting to text)...at least I don't think I can.

So deep breath and a step back...can you all share some ways you are using your S Pen...what apps...your workflow so to speak. For example, do you use S Notes exclusively for "notes on the run", but use Samsung Notes for things that you know you need to retain. Do you use something exclusively for entry simplicity and then "share with" another program?

I'm just looking for some out of the box thoughts as well as day-to-day functions. Don't misunderstand...I'm not trying to force myself to use something I don't need...rather I'm trying to figure out how a new tech I have access to might simplify things for me.