USA today says Samsung has three choices in dealing with the Note 7. What do you think?

rushmore

May 3, 2011
Visit site
It may not be the battery that's at fault! It could be related to the internal workings of the phone. I'm no expert, but could it have something to do with how the battery or current are regulated?

It is a chemical short due to the layer between the anode and cathode being compromised. Poor QC with their battery production and even worse lot control of what devices the batteries were in and where they were at.

Even cheapo battery makers serial each battery and have lot control. Samsung apparent process with this seems very wrong.

rushmore

May 3, 2011
Visit site
Agreed, there were a couple isolated issues with iPhones but as you said 'problem children'. Unless it happens to 25+ people, the news won't pay to much attention to it. in my opinion.

What apparently happened here were some fires and smoke reported in Korea (some discredited) and then shortly after this, Jeep Guy got front page coverage. THAT is the catalyst for the hype. Then Garage Guy, Grandma and Pocket Guy. All apparently discredited, or dubious.

No Jeep Guy, likely no drama and hysteria.

cactuspete23

Dec 23, 2015
Visit site
Not that it is Great... But Lithium POLYMER batteries are much more likely to fail (and burn) than LiFePO4. (RC Drones also use LiPolymer,and for those they sell kevlar bags to charge batteries in to contain any fire, due to bad battery,or overcharging problems !!!) But the polymer ones are the type used in all phones because they have higher watts/gram (Higher energy density). And the FAST charging that is more popular makes overheating more likely.

This is one reason that I normally use slow, 500ma or 1000ma charging for my electronics. IMHO, When charging overnight, or when you won't be watching the phone, fast charging is probably not a great idea for any phone,or tablet.

spasell

Aug 6, 2011
Visit site