problem with bass in sound of videos recorded on Note 8

Note 8 User

Jul 22, 2018
Visit site
I am a musician, and I regularly used my S5 to record videos of band gigs/rehearsals - rock solid, no problems, surprisingly good quality sound.

But I recently upgraded to a Note 8, and I find the sound recorded with a video fluctuates in quality. Specifically, the bass frequencies will repeatedly fade out for several seconds and then come back for several seconds. For the periods of time that it's working nicely, the result is entirely adequate for my needs. But my videos have fade-patches interspersed throughout them where the bass frequencies are severely diminished. I notice this especially, as I play bass ;) The result is that I can't use my Note 8 to produce decent music videos and band demo material, whereas my old S5 was (and still is) quite good at this (for my purposes).

Am I doing something wrong? Is there some video sound quality setting that I need to find and tweak? Or have I got a problem with my phone hardware/software?

Any suggestions welcome, thanks.

j_hansen

Oct 16, 2012
Visit site
maybe try a different app for recording music to confirm/rule out a fault on the phone.
I think the phone have different recording modes as well, as in you can use it to record at a meeting at it will detect where sound/voice is coming from when you sit around a table, I could see that interfering with recording music

Note 8 User

Jul 22, 2018
Visit site
maybe try a different app for recording music to confirm/rule out a fault on the phone.

Good suggestion, thankyou. Here's a sample recorded with Facebook Live .... https://www.facebook.com/timon.bass.1/videos/242043376612754/