What happened to the ir blaster?

Creedyfbaby

Aug 31, 2018
Visit site
Seems like a oretty good feature im new to the note series but a universal remote seems like it would be icing on the cake for the note 9 does anyone know why it was removed?

Mooncatt

Ambassador
Feb 23, 2011
Visit site
Seems like a oretty good feature im new to the note series but a universal remote seems like it would be icing on the cake for the note 9 does anyone know why it was removed?
It's just a general trend. Take away features, make incremental spec upgrades, wrap it in a fragile paper thin glass body, and charge more for it. The LG V20 is one of, if not the last flagship I'm aware of that had the IR Blaster.

anon(20964)

May 7, 2010
Visit site
IR is antiquated technology. It's supplanted /replaced by bluetooth or RF. Maintaining necessary supply/distribution of IR parts is costly and risky from a business perspective. Not to mention the PCB and chassis space needed. I'm glad IR blaster was dropped. I would question the wisdom of a phone manufacturer that kept it in the design past 2012 or so.

Last edited:

Blues Fan

Jun 21, 2015
Visit site
IR is antiquated technology. It's supplanted /replaced by bluetooth or RF. Maintaining necessary supply/distribution of IR parts is costly and risky from a business perspective. Not to mention the PCB and chassis space needed. I'm glad IR blaster was dropped. I would question the wisdom of a phone manufacturer that kept it in the design past 2012 or so.

Why though? it's fun to be able to change the TV channel at a gym or bar.

Creedyfbaby

Aug 31, 2018
Visit site
As long as its easy to hide in the design i dont see the issue however if its ugly and sticks out yes dont put it in hell the pen could have it on one end and add 3 extra buttons for some extra function.

Creedyfbaby

Aug 31, 2018
Visit site