How can I prevent T-Mobile OTA pie update and stay on 8.1?

NoteSansPie

Jun 7, 2019
Visit site
I have a Galaxy note 9 running 8.1 and would like to stay there. My phone is the T-Mobile branded one. Unfortunately it seems that my phone has downloaded the OTA update to pie and is asking me to install it. I clicked "Later" but I'm afraid that won't last forever. How can I delete the downloaded data and also disable the update from happening in the future?

I am a complete novice when it comes to software stuff so things like "flashing" memory etc may be beyond my scope unless it's very simple. I do follow instruction well though :)

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site
I have a Galaxy note 9 running 8.1 and would like to stay there. My phone is the T-Mobile branded one. Unfortunately it seems that my phone has downloaded the OTA update to pie and is asking me to install it. I clicked "Later" but I'm afraid that won't last forever. How can I delete the downloaded data and also disable the update from happening in the future?

I am a complete novice when it comes to software stuff so things like "flashing" memory etc may be beyond my scope unless it's very simple. I do follow instruction well though :)
I wouldn't prevent pie , you may not like the new icons or certain things but you have the theme store, Nova and other things that get you back to liking it, what you dont get if you dont update not up to date security for the phone latest OS things and apps that might not be compatible. If you dont know how to flash I think you should stay away from this.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
Rooting the phone will prevent the update from installing (you'll still be bothered to update it, but if the update starts, it checks the phone first and, at about the 25% point, it will report "failure" because updating a rooted phone could brick it.