1. sweetypie31's Avatar
    This is probably a dumb question , but I'm going to ask anyway. Lol I recently started using Google Photos to back up certain pics on my phone and as card. If I backup the pics in photos and then erase the pics from my phone or sd card the original pics will still be in the Photos app right ? I just want clarification before I start deleting.
    08-15-2019 04:01 PM
  2. johnnyshinta's Avatar
    Yes they will be stored in the "cloud" and removed from local storage. To view them your phone will download a temporary copy and then remove it when you're done.
    sweetypie31 likes this.
    08-15-2019 04:17 PM
  3. sweetypie31's Avatar
    Yes they will be stored in the "cloud" and removed from local storage. To view them your phone will download a temporary copy and then remove it when you're done.
    Ok. Thank you. Can you tell I don't use or 5rust this cloud stuff too much ? Lol
    08-15-2019 04:28 PM
  4. B. Diddy's Avatar
    @sweetypie31, the important thing to remember is if you're using the Google Photos app to delete a photo, DONT TAP THE GARBAGE CAN. That will put the photo in the Trash, and that will sync across the entire Google Photos platform (i.e., anywhere you access Google Photos). You can always recover a photo in the Trash within a certain time frame (I think 30 days), but after that, it's gone.

    Instead, in Google Photos, select the picture, tap Menu, then Delete From Device. This will only delete the locally saved copy, but will leave the cloud one alone.

    It's easier just to use the Free Up Space option in the Google Photos app's main menu -- this will automatically delete any of the locally saved photos that Google Photos knows has been backed up to your cloud.
    sweetypie31 likes this.
    08-15-2019 04:31 PM
  5. sweetypie31's Avatar
    @sweetypie31, the important thing to remember is if you're using the Google Photos app to delete a photo, DONT TAP THE GARBAGE CAN. That will put the photo in the Trash, and that will sync across the entire Google Photos platform (i.e., anywhere you access Google Photos). You can always recover a photo in the Trash within a certain time frame (I think 30 days), but after that, it's gone.

    Instead, in Google Photos, select the picture, tap Menu, then Delete From Device. This will only delete the locally saved copy, but will leave the cloud one alone.

    It's easier just to use the Free Up Space option in the Google Photos app's main menu -- this will automatically delete any of the locally saved photos that Google Photos knows has been backed up to your cloud.
    Yes. I know about the trash can. We've had a run in already . It's wasn't pretty.lol I did not know I could still only erase locally from the Photos apps though. Thanks for that info.
    B. Diddy likes this.
    08-15-2019 04:37 PM

Similar Threads

  1. Google play music on LG C9 OLED
    By Android Central Question in forum Android TV
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-16-2019, 12:44 PM
  2. Google network registration for google Pixel 2 XL phones
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-15-2019, 04:22 PM
  3. Google play music on LG C9 OLED
    By goldieabroad in forum Android TV
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2019, 11:29 AM
  4. request to delete my message on google
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2019, 11:27 AM
  5. Samsung note 3 google play store timeout.
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-15-2019, 10:46 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD