New to Android

Steve Villines

Mar 19, 2014
Visit site
OK, so I am new to the Android Platform. I had an HTC Incredible II in the past, but decided to switch to an I-Phone. I also own a I-Pad 1. The reason I switched over from the Android platform is simplicity. Android confused me and I really didn't want to take the time to learn how to use the platform. Well, times have changed. I am tired of lugging my laptop all over the country and have decided to invest in a Samsung Galaxy Note Pro 12.2. I will use my laptop for heavy duty work, when I am at home on my docking station with multiple screens. However, on the road I want something light and portable.

With all this being said, I realize that the old dog needs to learn some new tricks to make this plan successful. I have quite a few questions, most of which are very basic, some of which are specific to the new tablet. Please forgive me if I am asking questions that have already been posted elsewhere, feel free to point me toward the proper forum.

Thank you all in advance for your patience and advice. So here we go.

1. How much of the user interface is specific to Samsung (Galaxy Note Pro) vs. Android. If I am trying to figure out how to optimize the UI, is it an Android or Samsung question?
2. I hear about all the different Android operating systems like ice cream sandwich vs. jellybean. Is the user interface different depending on the version, or is it more of a backend difference? When searching for answers or tips, do I need to specify the actual version or would the questions generally be generic Android questions?
3. I see all these task manager apps available from Android or Samsung. I really don't understand what I can close or delete and what I can't. Any suggestions for Dummy's on where to start learning about these options?

I will start with these questions, but still have many more. Again thanks for the support from a new convert.

RussBad

Oct 28, 2010
Visit site