Advantages to Rooting Skyrocket?

sportcourt7

Nov 4, 2011
Visit site
I need a new phone pretty badly, so I am going to get the Skyrocket if I don't here anyhing about ATT getting the Galaxy Nexus soon. So I was wondering if I root the Skyrocket how soon could I get ICS? And would it be worth it to root it? I am new to android and don't know much about rooting. I have a mac so does that make it harder to root a device? Thanks in advance.

sportcourt7

Nov 4, 2011
Visit site
I am new to android as well and from what i have read ICS will be available to the skyrocket very soon.

I've read that too but I have also read that it is coming to the Skyrocket in Italy in Q2. Which means it might not be avaliable in the US until Q3. I'm sure you know more than me but I'm just afraid ICS won't come to the Skyrocket for 6-9 months.

bwil18

Oct 28, 2011
Visit site
Honestly I heard around Christmas, latestet Jan. But again I am fairly new as well. Only been with android for a month!

planoman

Aug 12, 2010
Visit site
Having owned Samsung on ATT, plan for later than earlier. If you bought a samsung expecting an prompt official update, you might was to reconsider. If you expect to flash and unofficial version that will be quicker but before end of year is ambitious I think.

fogel35

Dec 18, 2010
Visit site
I need a new phone pretty badly, so I am going to get the Skyrocket if I don't here anyhing about ATT getting the Galaxy Nexus soon. So I was wondering if I root the Skyrocket how soon could I get ICS? And would it be worth it to root it? I am new to android and don't know much about rooting. I have a mac so does that make it harder to root a device? Thanks in advance.

Never buy a phone thinking what it will have in the future. Samsung, HTC, Motorola, LG, SE, etc will only drop the ball when it comes to updating. Buy a phone for how it is now because more than likely that is what you will have for 1/4 - 1/2 your contract.

Creek

Feb 21, 2011
Visit site