I'm the first to admit that I'm just beginning to understand the differences of all the G's. I went to an AT&T store and asked: I know that if you drop out of LTE, the phone will look for HSPA+, but if you don't get an HSPA+ signal, do you drop to 3G, The employee that I talked to said, NO...you drop to 2G. Is this true?
    11-09-2011 02:09 PM
    First your phone will look for 4G LTE, then 4(-ish)G HSPA+, then(3G) HSPA, then EDGE, and finally GPRS.
    11-09-2011 03:03 PM
    First your phone will look for 4G LTE, then 4(-ish)G HSPA+, then(3G) HSPA, then EDGE, and finally GPRS.
    Thanks for the info, and thanks for answering without flaming me.
    11-09-2011 06:23 PM
    Also note that if you look under "About Phone > Status", for 'Mobile Network Type' it'll say for:

4(-ish)G HSPA+ = HSPA
    (3G) HSPA = UMTS

if you're on those two network types.

Confusing, I know.
    11-09-2011 06:35 PM
    Interesting..... When I looked at the phone today, it was the only 4G LTE one without a 4G indicator in the top information area.. The atrix-2 and others displayed "4G" or some other form of hspa symbol.. Did the display skyrocket have a setting off?? Also, no forcing of 3G, 2G etc it appeared to be all automatic... It actually had bad reception like three bars compared to my iPhones full bars.. I switched the skyrocket into airplane mode and then shut off airplane mode.. After that full bars. I really like this phone. But I am worried about the reception as I need to force my iPhone into 2G when I enter my house due to the tower being far away from my location. It appears this can't be done with the skyrocket.
    11-09-2011 07:28 PM
    It was probably on wifi or the sim was not properly provisioned for LTE ...
    11-09-2011 10:22 PM
    It was probably on wifi or the sim was not properly provisioned for LTE ...
    Oh, so your saying it does have the 4G symbol.