get it right away
    http://www.androidcentral.com/yet-an...ch-build-leaks

Remember our releases come from ATT which is always late in arriving. Don't blame Samsung. But the good news is that with the release by Samsung there will be pressure on ATT to make if for us.
    02-03-2012 11:45 AM
    I'm new to Android - came from BB a week ago. Still trying to get familiar with android OS before I move on to rooting. BB OS leaks were always very easy to install and almost never had significant issues. It didn't matter if it was a leak or an official OS released by any carrier, they would all work if it was for a particular device.

If I install any OS version not released by my carrier is that considered rooting? Also, I assume that the leak above shouldn't be installed on the i727. Am I right in thinking that an OS needs to be device-specific? If so, even a leak for the i777 shouldn't be installed on an i727 right? I'm still trying to learn how the vast number of different Android devices relate to OS versions.
    02-03-2012 12:36 PM
    rooting gives you ROOT or SUPER USER access to the phone and files. In other words, you get access to the things they don't want you to have access to. I did it so I could get titanium backup to backup the whole phone and eventually freeze some bloatware. Rooting is very easy.
    02-03-2012 12:47 PM
    Does that mean it isn't the same thing as installing a leaked OS?
    02-03-2012 02:06 PM
    Does that mean it isn't the same thing as installing a leaked OS?
    Altarocks I also come to SR from BB (9810). Rooting really has no BB equivalent. It isn't like updating the OS it's having access to the heart of it. If you root your phone you will still be on the same version of Gingerbread (2.3.5 or 2.3.6)