anon(153966)

Distinguished
Feb 1, 2011
Visit site
Today is the FIRST time I've ever tried Kies, and I have to say, I'm rather impressed...

It is not quite iTunes, but does a similar job. I mainly wanted my playlist from iTunes to sync, and save the 'settings' for my Skyrocket. And Kies seems to do just that.

I've not bothered to backup Contacts, Calendar, Email etc. since that is all already saved in GMail ;)

Anyone else use Kies?

skyrocketeer

Mar 23, 2012
Visit site
Use it quite a bit, and feel like you, it's pretty good. Seems stable and does the job wirelessly. I don't really use it for backup too much, as I use Google for that, but I probably will do it as I just got a new laptop, and have more space to do it on. I do use it to transfer podcasts off my laptop and it works really well. Put a lot of you tubes on my phone with it also.

jontalk

Feb 29, 2012
Visit site
Doh!! Sorry as a noob I have no clue what Kies is nor how it works.. Is it an app, cloud storage like Dropbox or? Inquiring minds want to know! :)

skyrocketeer

Mar 23, 2012
Visit site
Oh sorry JT, Kies is a Samsung app that allows you to sync with your computer wirelessly. It is browser based and is easy to use and works well. It basically is a transfer utility that allows you to transfer files between your phone and computer without a USB cable using your wireless network at home or wherever.

jontalk

Feb 29, 2012
Visit site
Sweet! Thanks SRTeer.. I see it in the Google store called Kies Air.. very nice.

Am eagerly awaiting to learn when ATT will release the GS3. My plan is to get a SR and learn Andriod and Touch Wiz with the goal of returning during the 30 days and getting the GS3. However, I guess there's a chance I may really like the SR and be good with it too ;)