I have a new Galaxy II S phone purchased and used successfully in Korea with local (Korean SIM) and AT&T 3G SIM from my blackberry.

I just returned to the US and back at my home and the phone seemed to work just fine on AT&T except I can't get a phone signal anywhere near my house. Normally, you'd think this is a coverage problem but I've been using AT&T in and around this house for 3-4 years, my blackberry (same SIM) and 3 Iphones all work right next to the Galaxy.

My question is this, are there any configuration setting that need to be done on the phone and/or with the carrier for me to successfully use this phone? I don't think it's an equipment defect or a signal problem but being new to Android and this phone I'm not sure where to turn.
    06-30-2011 03:55 AM
    As guess. I would check you roaming and data settings. Being that it is a phone not native to the US it can have setting that are not a custom yet. Try making sure packet data is on and check your network operators settings under "Mobile Network."

Hope this helped.
    06-30-2011 08:41 AM
    How strange, mine works just fine and I'm also on at&t. I bought mine from the expansysUSA's website. Where did you buy your, in S. Korea? And if so, was it the unlocked version or a local carrier version?

Sent from my GT-I9100
    06-30-2011 09:26 AM
    I purchased it in Korea at the Samsung store. According to them, as of the G2 they are all unlocked and work on the NA and Canada market. I'm pretty clueless on this one and why it's not working properly. I've checked the above and everything appears correct.
    06-30-2011 05:04 PM
    Wao, that is very strange. You should call Samsung Cust. Srvcs and see if they can perhaps send you a replacement unit.

A "Samsung Store", just like an "Apple Store" they have in Korea (wao), wish I could walk into one of those