Chrome vs Samsung Browser

Nyvideo

May 28, 2012
Visit site
I've been using Chrome on all my phones for years. I started playing with the Samsung browser and it seems nice. Has anyone really compared the two and have opinions on pros and cons?

Last edited:

rushmore

May 3, 2011
Visit site
I only use Samsung browser now, since has a high contrast mode in accessibility settings. Makes backgrounds black. Also just as fast and more features than Chrome.

paridge

May 20, 2012
Visit site
The reason I've stayed with Chrome is that I use it on my computer as well. So, the real time syncing is important to me. This way my bookmarks, previous searches, and autofill information are available in real time regardless of which device I'm on.

donm527

Aug 21, 2014
Visit site
For me Samsung browser on Android is the nicest one for me.

I didn't like it two days ago after my Pie update (Note 8) because they embedded the favorites button in the options area making it 3 steps to choose a fav. But they updated the browser last night and all is well.

I believe it uses the Chromium project so it's pretty much a Chrome browser so performance I find identical as far as loading pages and most features like drag down to reload a page and swipe left and right on address bar to swipe tabs.

But for me the UI in Samsung is just more friendly and faster... just having the back, forward, (especially the) favorites, tab buttons on the bottom makes all the difference in the world.

If anyone can tell me if it's possible to put those options on the bottom in Chrome please let me know and I might change because the one feature in Chrome that I have been wishing for since leaving iOS has just been added... swiping left and right to go back and forward webpages!!

You have to enable it in flags (chrome://flags/#enable-gesture-navigation) but it works so nice. Unfortunately, the flag doesn't show in Samsung flags.

So for now. Samsung Internet Browser FTW.

libra89

Jan 29, 2016
Visit site