New s20 FE - questions

notacoach

Sep 15, 2016
Visit site
Arriving next week.

One of the things I use all the time on my LG is the double tap to wake the screen. I thought that was an LG thing but just read Samsung does thst too now? I will be soooo happy, as I use that all the time!!!

Next up: is there a sound recorder available that will let you disable limiting and adjust gain? This single feature was the main reason I jumped to LG in the first place (I'm a musician), and not sure if there are any independent apps out there to assist (or if Samsung will even let you control the hardware to that extent).

Thanks in advance! Looking forward to receiving it, although kinda sad LG has jumped ship - I've really liked both of my V series phones.

joeldf

Dec 19, 2011
Visit site
For the double-tap feature... "Settings" > "Advanced features" (about 2/3rd the way down) > "Motion and gestures" > there are two related options with on/off switches - "Double tap to turn on screen" and "Double tap to turn off screen".

My previous S9 and S8 had the option to just press on the bottom of the screen to turn it on, but the S20 FE does not have that option so I tried the double-tap option. Unfortunately, it's not very responsive. I found myself getting frustrated at the thing not always responding. Maybe I tapped too fast, so I try slower and still no response, but after a couple more taps it finally wakes up. I ended up turning that option off and just use the side lock button to unlock it. I miss the S8/S9 screen press option. Maybe the regular S10/S20/S21 still has that option.

Someone else will have to chime in about the recording options. I don't use it, but I don't think the stock recorder is that customizable.

notacoach

Sep 15, 2016
Visit site
Thanks!

Double tap and the S view case are great. Other than that, not a good start. I'm remembering why I've always gone for the less favored brands. Samsung has become nearly as vanilla and pushy as Apple.