Just a small regurgitation of my feelings on this phone…

Yguideslou

May 25, 2013
Visit site
This is just a sort of rambling of my thoughts and laments, so if that type of post doesn’t interest you… bail out now… you’ve been warned, LOL J

So, I’m a total tech/gadget nerd. I tend to always get the latest and greatest, and irrespective of iOS or Android, (though I am an Android fanboy I admit), I love seeing how both platforms have evolved, and taken some things from each other.

Up until the S10/Note 10 series, I’ve always upgraded each year… sometimes twice/yr from S to Note, (and boy howdy are there knock down drag out fights with the wife over that now that prices are skyrocketing, lol). I didn’t upgrade from my Note 9 to the 10 series… the first time I skipped a generation in I can’t remember how long… was because of the god awful holes in the screen. I know, I know, many folks say “Bah, you get used to them and don’t even see them after a time.” … maybe, maybe not, but anyway, that’s why I didn’t get a 10 series… Plus I’m not a fan of wireless earbuds.

While the prices, even my Note 9 at $1250 for the 512MB storage and 8GB RAM, was a bit of a OUCH… it wasn’t enough to deter me… much to my wife’s shock of “over a thousand dollars for a freakin’ phone?!?!?!”

Fast forward to today and the S20… the Ultra, in either 128 GB or 512GB version, much as I want this phone… and despite the hole in the screen, the lack of headphone jack… I do… I really, REALLY DO want this phone for many, many reasons… or so my initial gut reaction was…

However, for the first time the price is making me not only hesitate, but really evaluate what I want, and whether or not this phone will deliver for MY needs.

I mostly use my phone for gaming, surfing the web, reading, and watching videos/movies. The games I play, play just fine on my Note 9. I look at the screen format, and think: