This is probably nothing new to most of you who have been on Android for a long time, or have used the GMail app for a long time. Well, I'm really new to the GMail app and I'm finding it needlessly-confusing in the way it does things. EMail should be pretty straight forward and simple, but GMail seems to make it needlessly-convoluted and just weird.

1) What's up with these "Promotion" emails? Are these ads? Does this just come with the territory when you use the GMail app?

2) Also, a lot of times, new email that goes into my 'Primary', for some reason also goes into "Important". I didn't set it up to do that, it just did it on it's own. ??

Anyway, I need to get into the Settings and see if I can understand things a bit better, and maybe change some of the Mail behaviors.

Comments, please ... thanks!
    03-06-2021 10:04 PM
    1) What's up with these "Promotion" emails? Are these ads? Does this just come with the territory when you use the GMail app?
    By default, there are certain folders (also called labels) that Gmail will automatically sort your incoming emails to: Primary, Social, Promotions, Updates, and Forums. Gmail's AI will try to sort your incoming mail into these general folders. You will typically get a couple of ads in the Promotions and Social folders -- they should be clearly marked as "Ad" and can be easily swiped away. This just comes with the territory when using the Gmail app. If you don't like ads, then consider a 3rd party email client like Textra (or the stock Email app that came with your phone).

2) Also, a lot of times, new email that goes into my 'Primary', for some reason also goes into "Important". I didn't set it up to do that, it just did it on it's own. ??