1. siglerm's Avatar
    I have an S21 Ultra for a work phone. It synced all info from my personal S10+ including photos. I do not want the photos on this work phone. I toggled off the "sync" on photos on the work phone. However, if I delete a photo off the work phone (even with sync off) it deletes the photo from my Google library and hence off my personal account.

    How can I remove just the photos off my work phone so they no longer appear there without touching my Google library of photos? I thought about deleting the photos app off the work phone and reinstalling it with the sync off but I don't know if that will work. Any suggestions? I just don't want any personal info on this phone. TIA
    11-23-2021 12:28 PM
  2. SpookDroid's Avatar
    Are the pictures showing in your Gallery app (not Photos)? (i.e. have they been downloaded to the phone) If not, then they're not in your phone, they're just in the cloud (where Photos pulls from). The sync option is to download local copies and to upload new images from your phone on the synced folders. But if you have the Photos app and you're logged into your account, Photos will still display what's in your cloud storage.
    11-23-2021 12:58 PM
  3. djousma's Avatar
    create a new gmail account to use for this phone. then factory reset and start over.
    11-23-2021 01:00 PM
  4. siglerm's Avatar
    Hi. So if I create a new Gmail account, can I just delete the photos app off the work phone without having to do a reset? I don't want to totally do a reset as my company IT guys will not be impressed with having to reset up my phone for me over photos.

    I checked my Gallery app and it appears it copied certain photos from my S10+ and put them in there. I tested a couple of photos and when I removed them from the Ultra Gallery, it had no bearing on what was on my S10+.

    So I am thinking the solution is just to uninstall the Photos app. Any thoughts?
    11-23-2021 01:43 PM
  5. MNMobileGuy's Avatar
    I have an S21 Ultra for a work phone. It synced all info from my personal S10+ including photos. I do not want the photos on this work phone. I toggled off the "sync" on photos on the work phone. However, if I delete a photo off the work phone (even with sync off) it deletes the photo from my Google library and hence off my personal account.

    How can I remove just the photos off my work phone so they no longer appear there without touching my Google library of photos? I thought about deleting the photos app off the work phone and reinstalling it with the sync off but I don't know if that will work. Any suggestions? I just don't want any personal info on this phone. TIA
    Yes, you could uninstall Google Photos (or disable it, if it came pre-installed) and then just use Samsung's own Gallery app for your pictures. Or if you prefer Google Photos, either uninstall/reinstall or simply clear all the data from the app via Settings, and then when you open it again, quickly go to the settings and turn off Back Up and Sync as fast as you can
    11-23-2021 01:55 PM
  6. siglerm's Avatar
    Thanks!
    11-23-2021 02:26 PM

Similar Threads

  1. Where do you go to look at phone reviews?
    By jasonduke in forum General News & Discussion
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 01-24-2022, 08:31 PM
  2. Why Media sound is only not working ?
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-24-2021, 01:16 AM
  3. what causes my phone to trigger an android recovery?
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2021, 12:17 PM
  4. s2 slows down, needs reboot
    By PeterLech in forum Samsung Galaxy Tab S2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2021, 12:12 PM
  5. Unable to find KIK downloaded videos/picture's in android gallery
    By Android Central Question in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2021, 09:17 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD