Installing CM 10.1 on a Telus i747 - Tips for a noob? :)

Canadian737

Sep 22, 2012
Visit site
Hello Android Central,

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to roms and rooting (well actually a major noob...). I managed to root my Telus i747 last night. It was a lot easier than I thought. I've been wanting to install CM10.1 on my S3 for ages, as I like the look of stock android better than touchwiz. I'm just a bit hazy on how to flash the rom onto my phone. I know there are several beginners guides, but I'm always paranoid/confused about whether the guides are compatible with my Telus i747.

I found one article here: Install CM 10.1.0 Final ROM for AT&T Samsung Galaxy S3 I747 (Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean ROM)

My confusion/paranoia stems from the words "use this post only with the AT&T variant of Samsung Galaxy S3 model number I747.
don?t try to flash the files on any other Android device, as you will end up bricking it."

Does this literally mean only the AT&T variant, or will this work with my Telus variant, seeing as they both use the same model?

If someone knows of a very good guide to installing CM10.1 for complete noobs and are compatible with Canadian carrier versions of the S3, please let me know!

Also, do you have any tips for me? I am currently just rooted...no CWM installed yet. I'm not quite sure what to do next.

Thanks for the help!

Jack Tierney

Jul 31, 2013
Visit site
If you're already rooted you should have CWM already installed. When you go to recovery mode you will be able to see this. Do backup and restore to sd card. Then you will have a backup of all your files and you will be ready to install mod. Follow all the steps, should be fine. Now i'm running i747 for rogers. According to cyanogenmod's website, the at&t download is compatible with rogers, bell, and telus. Here's the link:

Information: Samsung Galaxy S III (AT&T) ("d2att") - CyanogenMod