First of all - hello to all.

I'm fairly new to androidcentral but have been a lurker in a partner site for a while now.

My dilemma stems from the fact that in the Dominican Republic we still don't have LTE - but they say its coming.

So - buy the international version from amazon today - or wait for a carrier to release it in the states? How are carrier updates vs international updates?

Tough decisions...
    06-09-2012 11:28 AM

I'm fairly new to androidcentral but have been a lurker in a partner site for a while now.

My dilemma stems from the fact that in the Dominican Republic we still don't have LTE - but they say its coming.

So - buy the international version from amazon today - or wait for a carrier to release it in the states? How are carrier updates vs international updates?

Tough decisions...
    Hello mweinerth.. The International's updates will be faster.. The U.S. carrier's force any updates to pass their validation first.. and then they push the updates out at each carrier's discretion.. maybe since this will be the 1st " Universal " U.S. phone, they will change that and finally all carrriers will push any updates at once.
    LazrRocketArm likes this.
    06-09-2012 12:01 PM
    International updates always come first. Carriers have to brand them etc.
    06-09-2012 12:04 PM
    Well if you live in the Dominican Republic, I see no reason to get a US carrier version, unless that US carrier has a presence in your country. I don't see how you could get support, or any software updates, if you have a carrier version of a phone and are not in the same country as the carrier. If you expect your carrier will get LTE at some point soon, I'm sure they would offer an LTE version. Or, I would expect Samsung themselves will release an unbranded international LTE version, as they have done with previous phones. There's talk that there will be a Korea-only version that has the Exynos quad with LTE support in the near future.