Micro SD card just stopped being recognized

Something Creative

Jul 27, 2012
Visit site
So I've been using a SanDisk micro SD card for a few months now with no problems. It's a 32GB class 10 if it matters. I have a bunch of music on there and have my camera save pictures on there when taken. Yesterday it just randomly stopped working. The S3 does not recognize that the card is in there. I then took it out and reinserted it and the phone says that its corrupted and needs to be reformatted. After a few mins it then says that it is unmounted. I take the card out and stick it into my computer and the computer reads it just fine and sees all ~20GB of media on there.

Any ideas what's going on here? Nothing has changed in the last few days with the phone, so i can't imagine why it would randomly not be recognized by my phone but be just fine on a computer. Incidentally, this happened as I was downloading all of my apps from the play store onto a 32GB Nexus 7 i had picked up yesterday. That's got to be a coincidence, right?

Appreciate anyone that can help me here. I know i can reformat it and load all the media back on there, but that doesn't explain what could have happened and i don't want to do that yet as the issue could just randomly happen again.

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
Just search within the S3 forums for FAT32 or ext3 - I won't try to explain it, but that would be my vote for what your problem really is.

And, yes, it was probably just a coincide that the problem occurred while you were loading up your new 32GB Nexus 7. On the other hand, perhaps your Galaxy S III is jealous - we could test this premise out pretty easily: just send me your Nexus 7 and if you stop having problems with your SGSIII we'll know that was the cause. :beer:

Sent from my rooted, debloated, deodexed Sinclair ZX-80 running CM -0.001 using Tapatalk 2

Tarant

Jun 8, 2011
Visit site