My first smartphone... Samsung Galaxy S4(?) AMOLED display and the Mura Effect.

mindstormer

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
Hi,

I did some extensive research to find out what smartphone I want. It will be my first smartphone, but I pretty much know what I want. At first, it was obvious that anyone who was tech savvy would prefer the Galaxy S3 over the iPhone 5 when the latter came out. Then Google Nexus 4 came and teased me so hard. The lack of LTE (I'm really not sure whether I want it actually... more on this later if I get a significant amount of replies) and expandable storage (probably the biggest reason) held me back, but everyone seems to agree that its gorgeous IPS display just beats the Galaxy S3's AMOLED display by a long shot. Since I am a college student, whatever smartphone I get now will be the one I will be using for at least 2-3 years to come, so I want the very best.

Further research led me to the knowledge of the Mura Effect, which plagues any AMOLED displays. I can easily watch several hours of movies/Youtube videos on my iPod touch every day, and I tend to do it on my bed in the dark before I sleep. I don't want black spots ruining my viewing experience. IPS displays don't have this problem and they also tend to have more natural colors and a brighter display. AMOLED displays are dimmer and the color saturation is better... maybe even over-saturated (a bad thing, obviously).

I decided to ditch the Galaxy S3 as it is already nearly half a year old in favor of the Galaxy S4 (rumored and expected to be bigger display, even faster than now, possibly flexible screen, etc.). I think it's not too unreasonable to say that the Galaxy S4 will be the best smartphone before 2014 comes. The disadvantages of the AMOLED display that will most likely be on the S4 is really holding me back now and I'm not sure whether it's worth waiting for it. I could get the Nexus 4, but the S4 will be so much more impressive.