GS3 keeps freezing

MC_A_DOT

Feb 8, 2013
Visit site
Hey guys ..

Sorry if there is a thread for this already but I don't have time to search through the forums because I'm at work.

I'm fairly new to android and I have a slight problem, my device has constantly been freezing for the last week or so and I have no idea why. :'(

I've deleted my recently installed apps and even done a factory reset but it froze about 10 times after that. even this morning when I woke up the screen was just black but the notification LED was still flashing. Sometimes it would freeze while the screen is on, sometimes when it is off and then I would have to hold the power button to resolve the issue but it just constantly re-occurs. :'(

Any advice would be much appreciated...coming from an old BlackBerry, I absolutely love this phone and love android but I cannot deal with this constant freezing for another year and a half (When my contract ends).

Android OS version: Jelly Bean 4.1.2
International Version
Only had it since the end of November 2012.

Please help....

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
Perhaps you should take the time to search the forums when you're not at work?

You don't say whether your phone:
1. Ever worked correctly
2. Received the update to 4.1.2 around the time your troubles started
3. Is stock or rooted

Usually, if your phone is stock and you've performed a Factory Reset, the only other thing you can do is a shutdown/battery pull. If that doesn't solve your problem (and you've made sure not to download/install a bunch of apps) then you're probably looking at a hardware issue, and it's time to contact your carrier or Samsung for a replacement.

Edit: I saw in another thread that your phone is stock, so that helps reduce the possibilities. You could try removing your SDCard (if you have one) and operating without it for awhile.