Since upgrading the OS yesterday to Android 4.1.2, I've had the following problems:

1-I get no audio or visual notifications for new mail and calendar appointments. I've checked settings for almost two hours and can not solve the problem.

2- When I was in an office this morning, there was no wifi I could use though there were a number of secure wifi networks in the area. When I tried to go online using Mobile Data (it is always enabled) it didn't connect and I don't understand why. I thought data was supposed to take over automatically when not connected via wifi.

Any advice would be helpful as I'm a novice with all this smartphone stuff. I am particularly concerned about not getting notifications. Thank you.
    06-28-2013 03:35 PM
    Try clearing cache. Boot into recovery, use the volume buttons to select the clear cache option, then press the power button to execute.

If that doesn't work, for the notifications, go into the app settings and turn notifications off, force stop the app, then restart it and turn notifications back on.

When you say you couldn't use WiFi, do you mean you couldn't see any WiFi networks, or you could see them but not connect? If the latter, have you connected to them in the past?

Did you make sure mobile data is still enabled? Try turning Airplane mode on, then back off, and see what happens.
    tabletnovice likes this.
    06-28-2013 04:34 PM
    Oh boy, this is embarrassing (well, not really).

Thinking it only dealt with incessant updates of apps, I unchecked "show notifications" for gmail just the other day via the Application manager. I had no idea it dealt with actual receipt of email notifications, and thought it only related to actual software updates to the gmail app. I unchecked Notifications. I checked it today and it's working just fine.

Hope this helps someone else.

I'm going to monitor my broadband connections more closely as I"ve not pinpointed the cause of the problem.

Thanks so much for your help!!