Samsung galaxy s3 randomly freezes.

Ralph2449

Feb 3, 2014
Visit site
So my S3 has been freezing randomly while in use and sometimes while idle(screen wouldnt open, it was black, i had to restart with the power button). The phone randomly freezes but has never crashed.
It has dropped a few times but i ve been using a pretty sturdy case so it hasnt appeared any issues, and the freezes didnt start anywhere near a drop incident.

I have not hacked/manipulated/cracked anything and i am completely new to this. In the beginning i thought it could be firefox but after a factory reset and without firefox it kept freezing randomly. There have been no other apps that were installed around the time the freezes started.

It usually freezes after sometime the device is open and has been used a little. It doesnt happen if you just leave it open and do nothing. My ram after i clean it is around 500mb with max being 831, could that be the issue since i can easily reach maximum ram after some downloads/videos etc.

It has 4.3 andriod and i think the freezes have been increased since i have updated it. The model is GT-I9300.

Is there any kind of diagnostic program that can be used to find the issue? Do you have any idea what the issue could be based on that description?

GSDer

Jan 30, 2011
Visit site
The GT-i9300 has a bad reputation due to some questionable memory modules that Samsung used, often leading to "sudden death syndrome". Samsung supposedly fixed it with an OS patch awhile back, but who knows - perhaps that is contributing to your freezes.

If you did the Factory Reset after the 4.3 update then there are only two things I can suggest, along with one recommendation:
1. Clear the system cache in Recovery mode
2. Reload the firmware

Recommendation: make frequent backups to the cloud or your computer so that if something happens you don't lose everything.