How do I extend the life of my s3?

ld5596

Dec 8, 2017
Visit site
I have been using my samsung galaxy s3 since 2013. I rooted it in 2015. I changed my phone but continued using both the phones. Now, I want to use the s3 only, again. I am a tech illiterate, so please help.

What I am ready to do-
-Download anything provided I have enough information

What I am not ready to do-
-Pay, anything!!

What are my current problems with the s3-
-*Most Important* CHARGING BATTERY!! I have tried different chargers, I have bought a new battery(terrible waste of money). My battery drains a bit too quickly for my liking, much quicker than the s3 used to earlier. But the more annoying part is charging. I have installed this app called Galaxy Charging Current, and it gives me 100mA almost all the time (Reference: 999mA). I adjust remove the charger and plug it in again, it shows 500mA or so. Its basically 200mA on an average and becomes 100mA very easily. 100mA btw is when it isn't charging at all, I never see an increase in battery percentage. I charge my phone the enitre night only to 'increase' it from 3% to 3%!
-I have no clue how to use greenify
-RAM! I have 800mb of usable ram, and that gets filled up really quickly :( What can I do to stop unnecessary apps from running but I need few apps (such as my official college app which gives notifications almost everyday)
-Lag- while playing a game. I guess improving ram will make this alright
-A power button that is stuck, I can use it with my nails, but its almost on its deathbed
-Yeah that's it I guess

My s3 still looks beautiful, at most I can pay for the power button. I really want to use it forever!! Please tell me how to overcome these problems.

Also, the battery problem exists for different custom roms, and after wiping cache and even after factory reset. Its really moody, its 1000mA when I am really lucky, for its entire charge.

*Also, I know it isn't healthy, but I want to use my phone while charging*

Rukbat