Howdy! I'm a field engineer in Wyoming and spend a lot of time in remote locations. A typical day may have me leave civilization in a 4WD truck at sunrise, and return at sundown. The environment eats laptops on a regular basis even if they don't leave the truck: clouds of dust in the summer, snow, rain, mud, and/or extreme cold the rest of the year. I own an expensive, new-ish, ultrabook that I really don't want to ruin. OTOH, I have a Verizon Galaxy S4 in an Otterbox Defender that I'm willing to play with. I'd like to use it for field data collection via the bundled Polaris Office 5. I'd input data into a simplified spreadsheet that's also compatible with Excel, and write field notes and reports in a simple document form.

And now to the questions...
    1. Is this a reasonable expectation? I've not found many testimonials about doing content creation on an android phone.
    2. I'd like to use an external mouse and keyboard for this work, for two reasons:
    I'm concerned about fat-fingering the wrong data into the spreadsheet while using a screen keyboard, and
    I'm hoping for speedier data entry and report writing.
    3. Any specific recommendations on compact / portable KB & mouse hardware that might stand up to hard use in a pickup truck?
    Any suggestions on the connection - Bluetooth vs. USB OTG?
    4. Since I can do most of my typing in the cab of my truck, I'd also like to be able to charge my phone while I'm doing all this.
    5. Buying another gadget (rugged laptop or tablet, etc.) isn't on the table right now.

Any suggestions? Experiences?
    Thanks much!
    11-21-2013 06:10 PM
    That's a great question. My research only takes me as far as the library, but I wouldn't mind getting some info on this myself.