so i got pushed the update last night..
    pushed it off and finally that TWRP app ran real quick for a second powered the phone off and now my phone says its up to date even though its 4.2.2

my question is this can i update to 4.3 and not loose my root? i am new to this process and am currently rooted.

Tks
    07-19-2013 07:48 AM
    I would wait until there's a rooted version of the update available. Typically, doing an OTA system update will cause you to lose root access so I would advise against it for now.
    Paul627g likes this.
    07-19-2013 11:43 AM
    This is some " Root Keeper " applications available. I personally have never used them but I know they exist. Might be worth considering or do as V Dub suggested and just hold out a bit longer for a custom ROM built off the update.
    07-19-2013 12:01 PM
    so i got pushed the update last night..
    pushed it off and finally that TWRP app ran real quick for a second powered the phone off and now my phone says its up to date even though its 4.2.2

my question is this can i update to 4.3 and not loose my root? i am new to this process and am currently rooted.

Tks
    Hard to answer without knowing what version of the S4 you have. AT&T? International? Canadian? etc. The only 4.3 currently available is via custom ROMs. There is no official version out there aside from several 4.2.2 builds.

This is some " Root Keeper " applications available. I personally have never used them but I know they exist. Might be worth considering or do as V Dub suggested and just hold out a bit longer for a custom ROM built off the update.
    VooDoo OTA Rootkeeper is the app. It works pretty well in most situations. I am hearing mixed success with the latest MF3 OTA for AT&T.
    Paul627g likes this.
    07-20-2013 12:31 PM
    VooDoo OTA Rootkeeper is the app. It works pretty well in most situations. I am hearing mixed success with the latest MF3 OTA for AT&T.