Hard bricked galaxy s4 GT-i9505 – corrupted bootloader using E-Z Unlock PLEASE HELP!

deadandroid

Nov 20, 2014
Visit site
Hi Everyone,

I am relatively new to rooting and flashing etc etc, and fear that I may have bricked my phone beyond repair. Please, please can someone help? I am new to posting on these forums and below is a summary of recent activity which I hope will provide enough information to clarify my particular situation but not be unnecessarily long. Here goes…

I have (had now most probably) a GT-i9505 running a Samsung stock Touchwiz Rom on Android 4.2.2.

I kept reading about how to “unlock” the full potential of Android you needed to Root your device, and was frustrated at how many apps needed “root” access to get the most out of them, so I rooted my device using using CF-Auto-Root-jflte-jfltexx-gti9505.zip.zip and Odin V3.09 using the method described here:

The root went fine. My original reason for rooting was to use Link2SD with a new 32gb microSD card that I had bought for my phone. I used a guide which used minitool partition to create a second partition on the meomory card, except the guide said to set the new partition to fat32 and I think I used ext4 instead

Installed link2sd and moved a lot of my apps across to the new partition on the SD card. Phone was randomly rebooting so reading around I deleted everything “knox” related on my phone by searching “knox” in titanium backup and deleting it. My phone stopped rebooting and worked fine.

I was still frustrated by all the bloatware and rubbish that I never used on the Samsung rom, so I thought about installing cyanogenmod. I knew I had to install a custom recovery so I dutifully set my phone into download mode and installed clockwrokmod using GalaxyS4-CWM-6.0.4.4-GT-i9505.tar via Odin and all went well.