Rooting mass storage

Dartiailh

May 9, 2013
Visit site
Hi I am new to the Android world having a iPhone for years

The problem I am having is getting to samsung to show my music when plugged in via usb in my car

I have done some surfing to find that you need to somehow root the external memory card????

Can any one advise me on what I need to do to play the music in my car - iPhone worked perfectly .... Other than that the iPhone is S**the in comparison

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Android Central Forums

dwhitman

Mar 26, 2010
Visit site
Not 100% sure I understand what you're trying to do, but be aware that Android handles music streaming differently than iOS.

On iOS, you can send music data (streaming sound, plus track info) out the bottom connector thing, and many cars have a port wired to accept this. That connector is proprietary to Apple, so no other phone can implement it without paying a big royalty to Apple.

Android phones DO have a USB port, but to the best of my knowledge, no (out of the box) Android phone supports sending music data out the USB port. Instead, you use Bluetooth and most recent car stereos will play the streamed music and display track info, album cover, etc. You need to pair your S4 with the car's stereo; this may be two different pairings: one for hands free phone, the other for audio. Once you have the audio paired, when you play music on the S4, it should come out of the car's speakers.

If your car stereo doesn't support Bluetooth, your other option is to just connect the phone to an aux input on the stereo using an audio cable plugged in the headphone jack. That's what I did on my previous car; worked fine.

Nit pick: if your stereo can play music off a flash drive plugged into a USB port, it seems like you should be able to mount your S4 as an external drive and see the tracks. But I don't think this is what you mean.

kingj41

May 9, 2013
Visit site