2 weeks with S4 after 5 years with iPhones

firedoug

May 3, 2013
Visit site
So I have taken a sip of the Android Kool-Aid after 5 years with every iPhone Apple has released. I thought I would share my thoughts comparing the two Hardware and OS platforms. I have been a tech geek longer than most geeks have been alive, so I have seen plenty of trends rise and fall. My reason for the switch is that while I think iPhone has had a great product, and I believe they were the first to pull the convergence of the smartphone together, Android is starting to mature and the cutting edge approach is appealing vs. the Apple status quo.

So here is my S4 thought vs iPhone:
Hardware - Screen Size, Screen Aspect, and resolution Winner, device weight, Micro USB connectivity are winners. I am neural on the plastic contruction that gets everyone's panties in a bunch.... really we all put our phones in plastic cases anyway, so what is the point if the devices is coated in 24k gold.
S4 volume and sleep buttons suck... terrible tactile feel and having the sleep across from volume makes pressing both a common mistake. No dedicated silent/vibrate switch on S4 is a bummer, but no deal killer, Androids solution is fine, just not preferred. S4 radio signal is worse than latest iPhone.... more dropped calls and lots of S-Voice advising no network connection.

Software - Android is far more tweekable, but also more unstable and problematic.... This is a deal killer for appliance operators or people that just don't have the ability to fiddle with it to get it to work. I really like the depth of customization that Android lets me tweek... But I have also been sick of a few of the pains in the *** that go along with this freedom, not everything plays well in the borderless sandbox.

S4/Android wins:
Google Search, Navigation, Widgets, lock screen, notification/settings window shade

IPhone Wins: