I'm trying to prolong my battery life I don't really care to use a task killer I hear those are bad however I'm currently using juice defender it seems to be ok I'm currently new to android ive had apple all my life so any tips or cool apps would help thanks

Posted via Android Central App
    05-14-2013 04:56 PM
    First I would recommend checking some of the other posts out there for solutions for battery drain. There a few that have a ton of info in them already. Second, there's a spot in the settings that will tell you what is using the battery the most and let's you even adjust the settings from there (display is a big one). Also turn off un-needed services (Bluetooth, sensors like smart stay, etc) that you don't use. Otherwise they're active all the time for no reason. Hope this helps!
    05-14-2013 07:02 PM
    Some quick things to do:
    -do not use a task killer, the newer versions of android handle the ram better than 3rd party task managers( juice defender or similar app is fine)
    -make sure power saving mode is on and all the boxes are checked
    -disable any service you are not using(GPS, Data, etc.). You can use an app like "tasker" to do some of it automatically
    -do not use any live wallpapers
    -use a dark colored wallpaper
    -uninstall apps that you do not use
    -some widgets take up more battery than others because they constantly need to refresh
    -turn off smart stay, s-voice, and motion detection
    -use wifi over 4g if possible
    -lower the screen brightness. this will make the single biggest difference but may not be possible. I have an S3 and most of the time I have it on full brightness because in the sun it gets washed out.
    I use "Velis auto brightness". It seems to work better than the stock auto brightness setting. Plus its more configurable.