Hi,

I am totally new to Android and Samsung S4. Have been using iPhone before. Very happy with the phone but I am trying to learn some stuff. For example, when using the phone, playing games or streaming a movie while the phone is charging, it won't charge. Not even if I only browse around. It will stay on 74% or whatever. But when I close it (lock) it starts to rise %. With iPhone it would charge without problem while being active with the phone. I hope it's only a setting because it would be pretty bad if it cant charge while the kids are watching a movie :/
    05-19-2013 09:03 AM
    Hi,

I am totally new to Android and Samsung S4. Have been using iPhone before. Very happy with the phone but I am trying to learn some stuff. For example, when using the phone, playing games or streaming a movie while the phone is charging, it won't charge. Not even if I only browse around. It will stay on 74% or whatever. But when I close it (lock) it starts to rise %. With iPhone it would charge without problem while being active with the phone. I hope it's only a setting because it would be pretty bad if it cant charge while the kids are watching a movie :/
    Try messing around in Settings, like turning Auto brightness off etc, or any other battery killing setting. Auto brightness is kinda cool, but it is about as big of a battery killer as leaving your bluetooth on. After that, if you don't see any kind of improvement, contact Samsung, you may have a faulty charger or cable.

Now, with my S3, I can charge and watch a movie, but the charge rate slows to a crawl. I am using power for the screen, processor, and internet, on top of whatever else Android needs to do in that time. Same thing happens with high processed games, ones with a lot of moving video, and lots of things happening on the screen. Otherwise so long as the things I am doing are low power uses, I am fine.