I'm new to android and just finding my feet, having been an avid iphone user for years!
    I'm using the stock sms app but am surprised to see it desn't have a 1,3,4 etc by the envelope to show the number of unread messages. Is there a way to enable this?

I've also downloaded Glowfly to enable the opo ups to a new sms. This will appear on the home screen but not on the lock screen, is there a way of doing this? I've got the lock screen pin protected but have tried taking this this off and no joy.
    06-25-2013 09:03 AM
    I'm new to android and just finding my feet, having been an avid iphone user for years!
    I'm using the stock sms app but am surprised to see it desn't have a 1,3,4 etc by the envelope to show the number of unread messages. Is there a way to enable this?

I've also downloaded Glowfly to enable the opo ups to a new sms. This will appear on the home screen but not on the lock screen, is there a way of doing this? I've got the lock screen pin protected but have tried taking this this off and no joy.
    This is part of learning Android. Personally, I like using a different Launcher to get the counts for my SMS, Gmail or missed calls... AND lock screens are something totally different. I have not used it, but you might want to check out: Play store: DashClock
    06-25-2013 11:22 AM

Use Nova Launcher...it has the option to do this...this is something I needed as well
    06-25-2013 11:29 AM
    Use Nova Launcher...it has the option to do this...this is something I needed as well
    Neither Nova or Apex (To the OP: These are the launchers I was referring to above, I have used both on the S4) will do anything with the lock screen.
    06-25-2013 12:32 PM
    I use nova launcher as well. Although it should have been built in. Doesn't make any sense why it's not.

Sent from my SCH-I545
    06-25-2013 02:01 PM