Stolen Samsung Galaxy S4

Chess12345

Jul 1, 2013
Visit site
Sorry I am not very technically minded, and I know this is probably my fault, but here's the situation.

I lost my new phone at a concert! I didn't have my phone locked with a password.

If they wiped my phone and removed the SIM card do I have any hope of seeing my phone again?

Marck527

Jun 16, 2013
Visit site
Nope. Did you have any software on their that could locate it? For example I have AVG antivirus pro which has that feature.

Sent from my GT-I9500

Fairclough

Nov 2, 2012
Visit site
No unless he rooted it onto the phone.
If you have your phone details report it stolen to your carrier. Probably best to claim insurance.

Sorry to hear about your phone

Posted via the mystical forest creatures that power this Nexus 4

Chess12345

Jul 1, 2013
Visit site
I talked to my brother last night and he said he didn't install an app like that and if they factory reset the phone any apps on there like 'finding the phone' are useless...

What is IMEI, can my cell phone provider use that to track my phone if someone starts making calls on it? Surely they must know where all the cell phones are if they're connected.

I have home insurance but I think I need personal insurance to cover a lost item claim...

BobR1908

Jun 17, 2013
Visit site
Unfortunately, you are almost completely out of luck. The phone was not locked nor was security setup on it. Essentially whomever has it can swype into it, reset it and be good to go when it comes to using it. You can report it stolen to the carrier and depending on the carrier they may depending on whether you are in good standing or not offer a small discount on a new phone but other than that you are basically out of luck. Unfortunately.

Posted via Android Central App

BobR1908

Jun 17, 2013
Visit site
IMEI is essentially a unique serial number links to the phone. The carrier will not help in tracking it, safe to say the phone you lost is gone.