My S4 and HTC One Comparison (Ongoing)

WickedRabbit

May 31, 2013
Visit site
This is my own personal comparison between the S4 and HTC One. I'll try to be as organized and as to the point as possible for those that may find this interesting. This post will continue to be updated regularly over the next two weeks. I am going to be running both devices the exact same way as I go about my days (same apps, same settings, as close as possible to same usage patterns).

Since I have the HTC One for the next two weeks if you have specific questions please let me know. If you want to see screenshots of certain things i can provide those as well.

Devices being compared:
  • Verizon 16GB S4 (purchased at launch)
  • AT&T 32GB HTC One (purchased July 4th, 2013)

This is not an AT&T vs. Verizon debate even though I'm testing out both carriers. While I am going to be keeping track of what I think about AT&T service, this is more about the phones than about the carriers. I'm no expert and I'm not sure if certain things (such as battery life) would be different because of using Verizon vs. AT&T. If there is, it would be helpful to let me know, as I will be talking about the battery life of the HTC One since I'm comparing it to the S4.

Why did I decide to also purchase an HTC One?
While I love my S4, two things ultimately led to curiosity about testing out the HTC One:
  1. UI Lag and performance issues with the S4 (well documented already)
  2. Touchwiz design (the more I use it, I just find it very unappealing to the eye in every way possible and very limited where I need it)