Complete voice control of S4?

BigRedArtSet

Dec 5, 2013
Visit site
I'm a service technician. Part of my job involves driving my truck, a large commercial box-truck, around the converging area of three states. Another part of my job involves me occasionally talking on my stock, unrooted, Verizon Samsung Galaxy S4 cell phone. Many times, I am doing these two things together. Unfortunately, I was pulled over by a state patrol officer the other day and have come to find out that commercial vehicle operators are NOT allowed to use a cell phone while driving their vehicles. It was instructed to me that using a hands-free device WAS allowed (i.e. Bluetooth, etc...)

I purchased a Bluetooth headset (the LG Tone+, not that it makes any difference) and would like to know if the following situation is possible:

[SCENE: Me driving my truck down the road, both hands on the wheel, phone in sleep mode tucked away in my hip pouch, and Bluetooth headset connected to it.]
ME: "Hi, Galaxy" (Or whatever the preferred "wake-up" command may be at the time)
SAMSUNG GALAXY S4: "What would you like to do?"
ME: "Call State Police"
SAMSUNG GALAXY S4: "Calling your state police station." (Or whatever it would say)
[The state police answer the phone and I politely tell them that I am calling them from my commercial vehicle using a hands-free device.]

In all seriousness, I would like to know if the S4 can be awoken from SLEEP MODE or if it is necessary to at least push the power button first to get to the lock screen.

Hghlndr

Mar 18, 2013
Visit site
Hey... good luck with Smokey!
Yes this can be done. I do it...
So in settings make sure to check calls, bluetooth, accesories, and make sure all hands free settings are correctly adjusted for you while driving.
I looked for the setting regarding bluetooth usage, so it could wake the phone by simply turning on/waking your headset which in turn wakes the phone to follow your voice commands.
Couldn't find it.... You will. Good luck