Cannot save direct from PC to phone

Ian Turvey

Jan 8, 2014
Visit site
Can anyone help? When I plug my S4 into the PC it picks it up and shows an external drive on the PC. Things can be exchanged between the 2 without problem. However, should I choose to save something from the web direct to my phone, it won't allow me to do it. I have to save it to my PC then transfer it across. Not a massive problem, but a curious one. Can anyone offer any advice please?

STSVA

Aug 7, 2013
Visit site
You could try turning "USB debugging" on in the Developer options section of Settings. I don't know if that will fix the problem, but it's worth a try if you haven't already tried it.

EDIT: I'm not an expert or particularly knowledgeable about USB mass storage, which is what the setting above activates, but from a little reading on the Web it may be that you can only use it if you have an external SD card in the phone. If you don't have an external SD card in your phone maybe that could be the issue.

Last edited:

STARGATE

Ambassador
Oct 8, 2012
Visit site
You could try turning "USB debugging" on in the Developer options section of Settings. I don't know if that will fix the problem, but it's worth a try if you haven't already tried it.

Beat me😃I agree 👆

Sent From Inside The TARDIS in a Galaxy S4 Away!

Ian Turvey

Jan 8, 2014
Visit site
Thanks for that tip. Unfortunately hasn't worked as I still can't save direct from the PC, all I get is a message saying "you can't save here choose another location" this applies to both phone and the memory card. Strange really can;t understand why it can't do it. Thank you for your help though.

Dave-in-Decatur

Feb 4, 2012
Visit site
Can anyone help? When I plug my S4 into the PC it picks it up and shows an external drive on the PC. Things can be exchanged between the 2 without problem. However, should I choose to save something from the web direct to my phone, it won't allow me to do it. I have to save it to my PC then transfer it across.